Gudjohnsen during one of the training sessions | GERMÁN PARGA - FCB

Former FC Barcelona player and captain of the Icelandic national team, Eidur Gudjohnsen, was one of the coaches of the first female FCBEscola campus.

The programme, which has been described by the coaching staff as a success, was carried out in Valsvöllur, near Reykjavik, Iceland. The campus began on 8 July and closes on the 13th, with the presence of FC Barcelona vice-president Carles Vilarrubí, Head of Institutional and International Relations.

FC Barcelona has carried out this pioneering project, in which 295 women are participating with a local partner, the company KA EHF, and with the collaboration of the Consulate General of Iceland in Barcelona.

Campus closing ceremony

It is expected that the closing ceremony of the campus is carried out on day 13. expected to participate in the event, among others, the newly elected President of Iceland, Gudni Th Johannesson, Minister of Education and Culture, Illugi Gunnarsson, and Eidur Gudjohnsen.

Later, an official reception will be held in which the prime minister and minister of Education and Culture, as well as other personalities and diplomatic representatives of the Embassy of Spain and of the Icelandic consulate in Barcelona are expected to attend.

Iceland, strong tradition in women’s football

Talking to Icelandic website Visir, FC Barcelona vice-president Carles Vilarrubí spoke of “the great importance for FC Barcelona to have its first women’s football campus”.

Vilarrubí added: "There is no better place to develop a project than Iceland, due to its tradition in the world of women's football and its closeness to FC Barcelona through Gudjohnsen, the club’s first Icelandic player and an icon of our organization.”

Firm commitment

Women's football is a strategic objective for FC Barcelona. The women’s team is one of the professional sections of the club since last August. The league season recently ended, in which the team finished in second place, and thus will compete in the Champions League for the fifth consecutive year.

Back to top